Did you know that, according to US News, estheticians made up to $46,770 a year in 2019? Additionally, the employment growth prediction for the years 2019 to 2029 was 17%. During that time, over 10,000 jobs will become available in this industry.
If you’re thinking of getting a job as an esthetician, then you need to know how to become an esthetician. However, you might not be sure where to get started.
There’s so much information out there about esthetician programs, state board requirements, and licensing, that it can be overwhelming and stressful to manage all that information.
That’s why we’ve put together this article. In it, we’ll review everything you need to do to become a licensed esthetician.
Finally, you can work as an esthetician and being your new career, making money doing what you love. Read on to learn more.
Become an Esthetician With a License
The most important requirement for becoming an esthetician is getting a license. These licenses are provided by whichever state you reside in. In every state except for Connecticut, this license is required to regulate the esthetician industry.
License requirements, because licenses are provided by different states in the US, vary depending on what state you’re in.
However, they usually involve an apprenticeship or training program, a specific number of training hours, and esthetician exams.
To get started with your licensing, you first have to go to an esthetician or beauty school. To find the right program for you, make sure that the esthetician training courses will prepare you for the exams you’ll have to take for your license in your state.
Additionally, you want to make sure that the school will meet the training hour requirements required by your state.
When you’re completing your training hours at esthetician school, they’re usually counted by taking the hours you spend preparing for exams, taking courses, and completing training. However, this amount can vary significantly.
For example, in Georgia, you can only get a license if you do 1,000 training hours or more.
In Oregon, this number is much lower: 250. When choosing your esthetician school, make sure you’ll get the hours required for your license in your state.
In some states, the hours that you would otherwise complete at beauty school can be earned by doing an apprenticeship. When you complete one of these programs, it’s beneficial to both you and the person training you to become an esthetician.
You’ll get the experience you need with actual clients in an actually esthetician workplace setting, getting guidance and supervision from a licensed, qualified esthetician.
They, on the other hand, will be able to have someone work with them without having to take on a full-on hire.
Apprenticeship requirements also vary from state. In some states, such as Maryland, you need to do the apprenticeship for a certain amount of time and hours (12 months of 600 hours).
In other states, such as Alaska, require you to complete 350 hours, but the amount of time you spend working with a specific esthetician apprenticeship program is flexible.
When doing your research about getting licensed, find out whether your state requires hours completed at school, an apprenticeship, or a mix of both.
You may have some options, in which case you can choose whichever one you prefer.
Note that, when you complete an apprenticeship, this might not make you exempt from having to take and pass required examinations.
Once you’ve completed the required schooling, training hours, and apprenticeship program, you should submit this evidence to the the state board that provides the esthetician license. This will demonstrate that you’re ready to take the examinations.
In most states, you’ll be required to pass the NIC, or National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology, Exam. After you’ve finished your coursework, you’ll likely have to take this assessment, which is made of two sections.
One section is the practical, hands-on examination, where you’ll have to demonstrate that you can complete nine or more activities and critical services.
These include particle microdermabrasion, hair removal, makeup, exfoliating, facial cleansing, and prepping an area for clients.
As for the other section of the exam, this a theory or written exam. There are two sections in this 90-minute exam. The first is the Scientific Concepts section, which makes up 55% of your grade on the exam.
This section includes subjects such as cells and tissues, infection control, and microbiology.
Then there’s the Skin Care and Services section, which makes up 45% of your grade. This includes subjects such as using electrical equipment properly for skin services and exfoliation procedures.
Even though most states will require it, if yours doesn’t require you to pass the NIC Exam, then they’ll likely have their own version.
When choosing a beauty school, make sure you select one that will teach you all the subjects included in your state’s required exam.
Pay the License Fee
Once you’ve submitted all the evidence of hours and training completed to your state board and passed the required examinations, you need to pay the license fee required to get your license. After this, you’ll be ready to start working as an esthetician.
Need More Information?
Now that you know all the steps required to become an esthetician, you might need additional information. Maybe you want to learn more about the best beauty schools in your area. Or maybe you’re curious about how to find work after you’ve gotten your license.
Whatever information you need, we can help. At Spreeberry, we’re experts when it comes to the esthetician and other beauty-based industries.
We also provide information on these industries in our blog. To learn more about how we can help you, contact us now.